'I am simply a 'book drunkard.' Books have the same irresistible temptation for me that liquor has for its devotee. I cannot withstand them.' L.M. Montgomery

'There are no faster or firmer friendships than those formed between people who love the same books.' Irving Stone



Sunday, November 6, 2016

On the Black Hill by Bruce Chatwin

  • File Size: 6409 KB
  • Print Length: 236 pages
  • Publisher: Open Road Media
  • Publication Date: October 18, 2016
  • ISBN: 9781504038348
My Source: Review copy from Publisher via Netgalley

Description

The award-winning first novel from a legendary travel writer, about a pair of twins and their long, remarkable lives in the farmlands of Wales.

For forty-two years, identical twins Lewis and Benjamin Jones have shared a bed, a farm, and a life. But the world has scarred and warped them each in different ways. Lewis is sturdy, still strong enough at eighty to wield an ax all day, and though he’s hardly ever ventured outside his little village on the English border, he dreams of far-off lands. Benjamin is gentler, a cook whose favorite task is delivering baby lambs, and even in his old age, he remains devoted to the memory of his mother.

The unusual twins have seen a country change and an empire fall, and in their shared memory lies an epic story of the century that remade Britain. From the stories of their father’s youth to their own dotage, there is nothing these farmers haven’t seen—or heard.

Famed travel author Bruce Chatwin brings his unique understanding of landscape and culture to his debut novel, an intense examination of a little patch of Wales. Winner of the James Tait Black Memorial Prize and the Whitbread Literary Award, and written in the tradition of Wuthering Heights and The Mayor of Casterbridge, this entry on the list of “1001 Books You Must Read Before You Die” is an all-time classic from the author of bestsellers such as In Patagonia and The Songlines.

This ebook features an illustrated biography of Bruce Chatwin including rare images and never-before-seen documents from the author’s estate.

I read Margaret's review over @ Books Please and just had to read this book. It was just as she described it. I enjoyed this book, the lovely writing and the wonderful characters. Full of quirky people and quirky ways. Set in Wales, a striking, harsh landscape. Most of all the rich relationships are what draw you in. Highly recommend!

Peek inside and read a bit or Purchase this book at Amazon US


2 comments:

  1. This sounds wonderful, Peggy Ann. I'm adding it to my list. Just the sort of 'gentle' book I crave sometimes. The name of Bruce Chatwin is so familiar to me, but I can't quite place it. Didn't he write some major civil war books? (Of course I could google it, but I try not to do that incessantly if I can help it. Sometimes I'd just rather muddle through in the old fashioned way before instant gratification became the 'thing'.)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. No, that was Bruce Catton, I think. It just came to me.

      Delete

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...